James Blake set to release new album in 2015, Kanye West collaboration strongly hinted at

james-blake-4.2.20131

English electronic crooner James Blake is set to release a brand new album in 2015. Blake has expressed interest in collaborating with controversial rapper Kanye West on the album and discussed it in more detail in an interview with the Miami New Times.

During the interview Blake announced that he was “seventy-five percent done” with the new album and that it should be released “in about five months”. He also went into further detail on his desire to work with West. “I have a lot of respect for Kanye, for what he has been releasing for years. We haven’t done a great deal of work in the same room yet, but we’ve done a few things, kind of helped each other with our own music. In terms of the actual collaboration for this record, it looks like we should be able to get something done. I know that there’s a specific song I would like him to be on, and if he can do that by the time my record comes out, that would be fantastic.”

bfb660ee

He also discussed the album as a whole, “I should hope that the new album will be a step on, as much as the second one was to the first. I guess I’ve taken a focus on the songwriting again, even more closely, and I’m dabbling in some different production techniques, things I’ve developed. I’m currently single, so that’s changed. A lot of things have changed in my life since the last record, and overall for the better, so I’m in a good place, I think. I’m in a good place to write in general, and I have been for quite a while.”

Blake will embark on a short U.S. tour that starts on November 30th and will most likely be the first place fans will hear new material live. Check out the dates below.

James Blake 2014 Tour Dates:
11/30 – Toronto, ON @ Mod Club
12/01 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
12/05 – Miami, FL @ Young Arts
12/07 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel
12/09 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Roxy

 

Leave a Reply

