The Black Crowes announce breakup

blackcrowes_715-620x400

Sad news for fans of popular Southern rock band The Black Crowes. The band just announced their breakup just two years after ending their last hiatus. The unfortunate split is presumably due to the ultimatum put forth by frontman Chris Robinson.

Black_crowes-Newport

In a statement Rich Robinson had this to say on the breakup. “I love my brother and respect his talent, but his present demand that I must give up my equal share of the band and that our drummer for 28 years and original partner, Steve Gorman, relinquish 100 percent of his share, reducing him to a salaried employee, is not something I could agree to.”

“I hold my time with the Black Crowes with the utmost respect and sincerest appreciation,” the guitarist wrote. “It is a huge swath of my life’s body of work. I couldn’t be more proud of what we accomplished and deeply moved by the relationships people created and maintained with my music. That alone is the greatest honor of being a musician.”

“There are so many people who have helped and supported us along the way, I want to give a heartfelt thank you to all of our fans, our friends behind the scenes, and to everyone who was a part of the Black Crowes.”

The band formed in the late ’80s and in 1990 released their first album, Shake Your Money Maker, featuring the hits “Hard to Handle” and “She Talks to Angels”. They released eight other records over the course of their career and will be sorely missed by fans around the world.

Check out The Black Crowes performing live below.

 

Leave a Reply

