John Frusciante is set to release acid house album as Trickfinger, premiers new track “After Below”- Listen

John-FruscianteFormer Red Hot Chili Peppers and The Mars Volta guitarist, John Frusciante has announced that he will be trying his hand at electronic music for his next album. On April 7th, Frusciante will release a self-titled album as Trickfinger which is his new acid house alter ego.

The eight track effort was apparently a long time coming. Frusciante explained that he became serious about electronic music as early as 2009. When he started recording, the music was “all experimental acid house,” and that his “skills at making rock music” didn’t influence Trickfinger in any way shape or form.

Check out the first released track of the album, “After Below”, tracklist and message from Frusciante about the album below.

“I started being serious about following my dream to make electronic music, and to be my own engineer, five years ago. For the 10 years prior to that, I had been playing guitar along with a wide range of different types of programmed synthesizer and sample-based music, emulating what I heard as best as I could. I found that the languages machines forced programmers to think in had caused them to discover a new musical vocabulary…

In 2007, I started to learn how to program all the instruments we associate with acid house music and some other hardware. For about seven months I didn’t record anything. Then I started recording, playing 10 or so synced machines through a small mixer into a CD burner. This was all experimental acid house, my skills at making rock music playing no part in it whatsoever. I had lost interest in traditional songwriting and I was excited about finding new methods for creating music. I’d surround myself with machines, program one and then another and enjoy what was a fascinating process from beginning to end.”

Trickfinger Tracklist:
1. After Below
2. Before Above
3. Rainover
4. Sain
5. Exlam
6. 85h
7. 4:30
8. Phurip



3 thoughts on “John Frusciante is set to release acid house album as Trickfinger, premiers new track “After Below”- Listen

  1. Well i certainly will get a lot of interest now that John F has chosen the same name as me, he thought the name Trickfinger was cool too !


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s