Blur announces first new album in 12 years, The Magic Whip and releases new track “Go Out- Listen!

BlurIn a completely out of the blue move, iconic Brit rock band Blur has announced that it will release its first new album in 12 years. The album is titled The Magic Whip and it will be released on April 27th. It will be the follow up to the bands 2003 album, Think Tank.

This news comes as a surprise since many people were left in doubt on the bands commitment to touring and recording music. With lead frontman Damon Albarn’s solo work and the promise of a new Gorillaz album in 2016 it did not seem likely that his old band would receive too much attention.


The band revealed during a press conference in London today, that they had met in Hong Kong to do some preliminary recording. At first they did not enjoy it but when they revisited the recordings, they sounded better than expected. While Albarn toured in support of his solo album, guitarist Graham Coxon took the recordings to producer Stephen Street. Albarn and Coxon then met in Hong Kong during Christmastime so that Albarn could finish the lyrics.

As an added bonus the band has also released the first single from the album titled, “Go Out”, album artwork and tracklist that you can view below. Blur is back!!!


Magic Whip Tracklist:
1. Lonesome Street
2. New World Towers
3. Go Out
4. Ice Cream Man
5. Thought I Was A Spaceman
6. I Broadcast
7. My Terracotta Heart
8. There Are Too Many Of Us
9. Ghost Ship
10. Pyongyang
11. Ong Ong
12. Mirrorball




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s